Cougar PSU - klausimai apie maitinimo blokus

Locked
User avatar
iller
Posts: 5302
Joined: 2004-11-25 14:00
Contact:

2010-02-08 17:55

Cougar PSU - klausimai apie maitinimo blokus

Šioje skiltyje HEC/Compucase Cougar atstovas Christian Verfürth vieną savaitę (2010.02.11-2010.02.18) atsakinės į jums rūpimus klausimus, susyjusius su PSU - maitinimo blokais.

Klausimus užduokite Anglų arba Vokiečių kalbomis.

Image

User avatar
iller
Posts: 5302
Joined: 2004-11-25 14:00
Contact:

2010-02-11 10:52

Q: Usually High Power PSU has large heatsinks. As we see S 700 heatsinks are not so big. Whether they are good at the maximum PSU load?

Image

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-11 12:27

Hi!
When you develope a PSU you should start with the cooling system. Will it be vertically cooled (large 100-140mm fans) or tunnel-cooled with one or two 80/90 mm fans.
Because of today“s normal vertical cooling system you need to take care that the airflow also can reach the parts on the backside of the PCB. As more heatsinks you have, as worse the airflow is.
This has to be concidered and deceided in the beginning of developing a PSU.
that“s also a reason why you never should change from vertical to tunnel-cooled or other way by yourself.
Cooling is an essential part of a good PSU.
More than 50 degree inside a PSU will decrease the lifetime rapidly.

We still think that this heatsink in the S700 (our biggest of all COUGAR-Series) is too big and we soon will change it.
High efficiency allows us to cool better with less heatsinks too.

User avatar
doweeez
Posts: 135
Joined: 2009-01-25 20:26
Location: Vilnius/Kretinga
Contact:

2010-02-11 14:13

Q: I prefer single rail power supply's than multi. Are you going to make singe rail power supply's?
'

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-11 16:03

What exactely is the advantage of a single rails PSU?
All COUGAR are coming with the dynamic load feature which means that our OCP is put higher on every line than normal.
When the S700 has 2x 24A and 2x28A on a line, it is really a lot.
one line automatically is purely reserved for the CPU, one for the mainboard and extension cards.

CPU can use 24A*12V = 288W. No CPU will use this, even DUAL-CPU you can use on this line.

MB can use also 288W.
Maiboard maximum takes 60W when you use an extreme model.
Every PCI-E Slot gets 75W.
soundcard etc. just takes a few wattage.
So also more than enough

and 2 lines with 28A for graphic cards.

336W per GPU is also enough, more than 300W so far is not allowed by specifications, some cards take a little bit more.

BUT - because of dynamic 12V distribution in all COUGAR PSU, you can use30A on the CPU line and then somewhere alse a few ampere less.
The PSU puts the "free power" on needed lines.
Our OCP will not shut down the PSU when you reach 25A on the 24A line, it will shut down when it is around 40A.

On Multi-Rail PSU“s it is easier to control the lines by OCP.
A Single rail PSU with 70A on the 12V line can have a problem because you could use it on one cable. This will be a problem.

So we mix the single and multi-rail technology in order to offer the advantages of both ways.

User avatar
ExT
Posts: 1305
Joined: 2004-11-25 14:00
Location: Vilnius
Contact:

2010-02-11 16:11

Q: Whats about momentary power losses? How many milliseconds can PSU feed PC components, when a momentary power loss on the power grid occurs?

For example: electrical engineers are switching 110 kV lines somewhere in a city and for just a moment there are no electrical power on the power line. 10 kV and 400 V lines are also effected. Power disappears just for a tiny part of a second, but it is usually enough to restart the computer. Even using UPS this problem can't be avoided properly, because when a momentary power loss is detected, UPS triggers and switches him self to battery power. Almost immediately it switches back to main power, because there are no power loss left. This behavior leaves PSU whit out electrical power.

Usually, this kind of problem is compensated by PSU internal capacitors energy. But how it is efficient or even possible using DC to DC converters?
[url=http://forumas.modding.lt/showthread.php?t=3848]USB Ežiukas[/url] [url=http://forumas.modding.lt/showthread.php?t=558]LCD + Winamp COM Control[/url] [url=http://forumas.modding.lt/showthread.php?t=2]Led PC Feets[/url] [url=http://forumas.modding.lt/showthread.php?t=4]New Fan Bus + Sleeving + Cable Managment[/url] [url=http://forumas.modding.lt/showthread.php?t=3]Lighted Mouse Pad[/url]

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-11 17:22

Hi!
You are talking about the hold up time of a PSU.
It is also specified in ATX specifications that the hold up time has to be at least 16ms. Most PSU have a range of 17-20ms.
The primary capacitor has big influence on this hold up time because on primary side (incoming) the energy is incoming and the primary capacitor is kind of a tank to store the energy.
We have around 32-34ms hold up time before our PSU runs out of energy.
It is always a questions of miliseconds and not of full seconds.
For a few seconds you really need an UPS. No ATX-PSU can do this for seconds.

User avatar
ResidentEvil
Posts: 2410
Joined: 2007-01-21 00:19
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

2010-02-12 13:59

Good Afternoon ;)
Q:
A little question about PSU power consumption.
Some people say that even if PC is turned off, PSU uses electricity from 220V socket, because rail's are still producing 12V power.
Is it true ? Or in psu is mounted some kind of relay that disconnect's 220V net ?
Image

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-12 15:26

Hi!
When you say "turned off", you are talking about a shut down computer but PSU still is switched on or an PSU which is switched off?

User avatar
ResidentEvil
Posts: 2410
Joined: 2007-01-21 00:19
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

2010-02-12 22:46

Compucase wrote:Hi!
When you say "turned off", you are talking about a shut down computer but PSU still is switched on or an PSU which is switched off?
Yes, shut down and psu is switched on.
Image

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-13 14:56

Hi! Sorry for the late answer.
When your PSU is switched on, it still takes power from your socket. This has nothing to do with 220; 230 or 115V. Your computer is ready to start when you press the POWER-Button on your case. The mainboard still uses some energy to be ready, also the USB peripherie gets power from there.
But it is not the 12V line! Every PSU has an own small transformer for the +5VSB line. It normally comeswith 2-4A. This line is very important. Without this line, no computer would start, it allows the mainboard/bios to start the system and after the start the other lines will be needed. but in first miliseconds only the +5VSB line is important.
How many wattage your system takes out from the socket is related to the PSU and the mainboard. A really good PSU with an efficient +5VSB line just needs 0.3 or 0.4W. but the mainboard is the main factor. Because the PSU only takes the energy out of the socket which is demanded from the components. If your mainboard needs 5W in this mode, the PSU will deliver 5W.

User avatar
ResidentEvil
Posts: 2410
Joined: 2007-01-21 00:19
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

2010-02-14 13:18

And the other question, I think many of us concerns about it:

Is it possible to buy Cougar products directly from manufacturer and just pay for shipping charges? Maby you have some kind of internet shop, etc?
Computer parts in Lithuania are ~30% more expensive than in Western Europe (don't forget that these W.Europe shops has their percentage too), ant GNT does not have business with private persons...
Image

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-14 14:56

Hi!
We don“t sell directly to end-user but the prices in Lithuania are not that much higher as you said. We are listed at a lot of shops in Lithuania, please check this here:
http://www.cougar-world.com/where_to_bu ... duser.html

PC Zona
ITBank
Kompsis
nTec
Skytech
Vebnetas

The links you can find on our COUGAR website as I posted.

So I think that this is a good beginning for COUGAR because several online-shops have listed the PSU.
Or check the scandinavian online-shops, we have more than 10 partners there. You also find the links on the COUGAR website (Where to buy).

User avatar
Compucase
Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-09 13:37
Location: Hilden/Germany
Contact:

2010-02-14 15:26

Another thing - for general questions about PSU we set up a kind of dictionary, please check this here:

http://www.cougar-world.com/psu_glossary.html




Also we don“t have to hide something and I explained in a short form how a PSU is developed and manufactured.

http://www.cougar-world.com/psu_production.html

Locked
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest